Timeline Stories

Hearts & Arrows: The Beginning

Valentine’s Day fell on a Sunday. The youth at church decided it was a great time to raise funds for their upcoming youth camp. They organized a romantic dinner setup at church and sold tickets to every couple, encouraging them to celebrate this romantic evening at church and for a good cause.

Bitter Valentines

Valentine’s has always been a bitter event for me. I have no one to celebrate it with. Even when I was in my previous relationships, I never got to celebrate Valentine’s Day because we were mostly apart on that day. I have, thus learned to be independent even on that day.

Jess also hated Valentine’s Day. It reminded him too much of the hurts he experienced in his past. It reminded him of the relationships he thought will last forever but ended up in bitter dust. It was a day he’d rather avoid.

Turn Around

But on that fateful Sunday, something was about to happen. I was encouraged to attend the event despite my protests that I would just contribute money. He was encouraged to attend because his parents who bought tickets cannot make it.

We were the only two single people who attended – and who ended up sharing a table for two together.

We were friends. It was no big deal. But it was the first time I talked to him seriously. It was the first time I glimpsed a man behind the boy I was used to seeing.

He talked about his hurts. I talked about mine. We ended up encouraging each other that God is faithful and will one day bring that special person to each other’s lives.

At the back of my mind, a fleeting thought struck me – What if it’s me? I instantly shrugged it away. No, he wouldn’t be interested.

The night ended. I went home. I texted him to thank him for his company and repeated my encouragement that as long as we remain in Him, He is faithful and will give us the desires of our hearts.

I had no idea it would start soon.

13711591_1132248853464917_1281461441_o
Our first date – and we didn’t even knew there will ever be an us!

Leave a comment